Circle of Healers blog meme


My good pal Rades “tagged” me (suggested for me) to do this so here it is.

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary healer?

Currently, I would have to say Omegamegaman, Shaman, Restoration.

What is your primary group healing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans) 

10 man raids.

What is your favorite healing spell for your class and why?

Riptide hands down. It’s got the instant blast power of Holy Shock, with the “here’s a little something extra” of Renew. Couple that with the Tidal Wave buff it grants you, it’s just got a lot going for it. If you don’t like Riptide I don’t see how you can like Restoration Shaman.

What healing spell do you use least for your class and why?

Healing Surge, because it’s really inefficient. I hardly ever has a use for it because other spells are often times just as fast for a relatively equal amount of healing but way less mana.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your healing class and why? 

Restoration Shaman moves seamlessly between multi-target and single-target healing. Whenever I play a healing class (and these days I play all of them) I always look for a way to fill in the gaps and I love how easy it is to do on Shaman.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your healing class and why?

That’s a truly hard question to answer, mostly because I never find myself wanting for improvements. If I had to pick something, and it’s not really a  big weakness in my eyes, I’d have to say it’s the fact that Restoration Shaman don’t have a very exciting talent tree. It would be nice to have a bit more in the playstyle department, as in talents to accentuate your own talents.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best healing assignment for you?

If it’s a healing assignment that I’m being held very strictly to, I’d say raid healing the melee dps. They are always pretty close to one another which makes both Chain Lightning and Healing Rain very easy and efficient to use.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with most and why?

I don’t want to choose just one, but I’m going to have to say Shaman because it suits my playstyle the best at the moment.

What healing class do you enjoy healing with least and why?

Hands down it has to be my Druid. I’m not a huge fan of what I can “Investment Based Healing”. You put a hot, and hope it matures in the $$$ and boss kills. Obviously, there are ways to reduce the risk involved and take the guessing out of it, but they way my guild raids currently we don’t use very strict healing assignments, just general ones. This leads to many of my HoTs being negated by quick cast heals from other players.

What is your worst habit as a healer?

Forgetting to weave in my mana cooldowns early so that I can get a second use in later, instead of an initial use later.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while healing?

Mostly when I have to work with other healers that don’t understand the synergy between the current healing comp. I keep advising healers to at least roll a low level version of every healer up to like, level 20 at least, so that they have a concept of how other specs work on the battlefield.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other healers for PvE healing?

Yes, definitely. In 25 man raids I would assume you have a little bit less freedom to do this, but in 10 mans you can take any three healers, even if they are all the same healer spec, and do a decent job. That’s balance in my opinion.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a healer?

Things like Recount and Skada are good to an extent. I run both at the same time. I like Skada mainly for gauging healing because it takes into account Absorbs as well as heals, which means you can easily see how much Discipline Priests are contributing. I also use tools like World of Logs to check my tactics compared to other Shaman to get different ideas and see if I’m on the right track.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your healing class?

People view Shaman as raid healers, which I generally refer to as “multi-target” healers. They’re quite good at this, but like I talked about above, they’re also endowed with great single-target healing which is often overlooked.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new healers of your class to learn?

How to use Chain Heal. There is this mystery that surrounds the mechanics for new healers, and I admittedly had trouble understanding it at first as well. I initially overcame this using a Grid status mod for Chain Heal, that lights up the units that would best benefit from a Chain Heal, and then I would point and shoot. Using the addon in this way helped make it obvious what situations were best for Chain Heal, and now I hardly pay any attention to the addon when it lights up frames.

If someone were to try to evaluate your performance as a healer via recount, what sort of patterns would they see (i.e. lots of overhealing, low healing output, etc)?

They would see that the majority of my overhealing is caused by spells that I don’t directly control, such as Earthliving procs and Earthshield heals.

Haste or Crit and why?

Haste. It’s dependable, no gambling is involved.

What healing class do you feel you understand least?

These days I would say Druid. I haven’t played it as much as my other healers and there are still some kinks I’m working out. Knowing the other healing classes as I do though, patterns do emerge and it’s getting better and better.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in healing?

I use Grid as my raid frames. I also use an addon called Tell Me When to create icons to show me the progress of cooldowns/buffs. I’ve also started using Weak Auras for visual heads up on things, but usually as an audio remind of when things come off cooldown are fall off my target.

Do you strive primarily for balance between your healing stats, or do you stack some much higher than others, and why?

I don’t worry about balance. One of the nice things, which will only get nicer as Cataclysm gets older, is Reforging. You can really customize your gear to fit your needs and that’s a beautiful thing. You need more throughput, reforge. You need more mana? Reforge. You need faster casting? Reforge. It’s just great.

About nofuneral

I say things. You say things.

Posted on July 17, 2011, in Blogging, educational, Healing, practice, raiding. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

